Miyabi Scandal!!!

4 06 2008

A couple days ago the internet presented us with pictures and even video of Natsuyaki Miyabi of Berryz Koubou and Buono! fame, apparently embracing some guy. Some guy has since been identified as Inoo Kei (I apologize if I mispell the names) of Hey! Say! JUMP.

So I’m sure this has been written everywhere else as far as Berryz Koubou’s infamous member, Natsuyaki Miyabi, is concerned. But I’ll put in my 2 cents about it and report it.

Miyabi scandal pictures

Only recently, in the past month or two have I gotten into the H!P Kids groups that are C-ute and Berryz Koubou. I knew a while ago, I had a small softspot for the two tall freak of natures that are complete underdogs. Actually I couldn’t tell them apart, so I believe I had a small crush on one girl which I may have confused as two. Anyway that is for another post.

I barely know Miyabi, though in retrospect I’ve seen her a lot. I’ve just never really noticed her… But due to my initial exposure to H!P Kids I can say a little bit. She’s pretty, I’ll give her that. Though at that she seems to have a special chin like Ishikawa. Her voice isn’t too bad (I’m going by her solo line in some concert performances). And she’s growing, so she’ll be a force to be reckoned with if she is moved out of Berryz or move onto something else.

On to the scandal. This is your typical H!P girl having a secret significant other on the side and somehow gets found out by the most random stalker. It’s been about 2 days and this information has been raging through the tunnels of the wotanet and 2ch. But apparently it hasn’t hit mainstream news yet. Well jinx me for typing this and finding out afterwards that it’s out. LOL, I just saw lightning strike as soon as I typed this sentence…

This isn’t the first time it’s happened. In fact there are a number of scandals that I only vaguely know about or haven’t heard of because I wasn’t actively reading at the time. However, unlike Yaguchi’s, Ayaya’s, and Fujimoto’s significant other scandal, Miyabi is nowhere near their age. She’s like 15… Now that’s kind of a normal age to start dating and having a relationship I guess (I wouldn’t know). So can’t really blame her for being a normal girl.

But that’s the thing. The whole thing about being an idol means you can’t quite be a normal girl. There have been a few exceptions… but they got lucky probably. Let’s take a quick look at some previous scandals to compare:

  • Abe Natsumi: plagiarized on her essay book. She got suspended for a couple months.
  • Kago Ai: smoked underage. House arrest, suspension, and getting fired in the long run.
  • Yaguchi Mari: got caught with Oguri Shun, her then bf. “Voluntarily” resigned from Morning Musume without a graduation and passing on the torch very early to Yossie.

What do they all have in common? All of them are heavy-hitter stars. Abe was managing a decent solo career as well as NochiuraNatsumi, which was arguably the biggest super-group for a while. She got suspended. Kago was a huge fan favorite (I’m still a Kago fan at heart) and was spearheading W with Tsuji. She got suspended but they were still hoping to make a comeback for her and she almost did! Until more scandal and then she got fired. Yaguchi was the leader of Morning Musume hot off the heels from Iida Kaori’s graduation. Whether or not it was her decision to do it she went from a big star in H!P to a much more low profile one.

So what does this have to do with Miyabi? Well, she’s a big star in the H!P Kids world right now. She’s leader of her own sub-unit Buono! and a popular member in Berryz. That means UFA probably can’t afford to totally destroy her career. As it is right now the H!P Kids are definitely starting to become a force to be reckoned with. In some ways the H!P Kids have Morning Musume beat. But that’s another thing. Miyabi is too popular. She HAS to get a light punishment like a certain Abe Natsumi. Abe is arguably one of the most infamous members of H!P so it’s only right that UFA keeps her. They’ll want to keep Miyabi. They have to, they’d lose too much if they lost her now.

So once mainstream news (if ever) picks this up. We’ll see what happens. For now, I hope they’ll deny it and just have Miyabi be more careful (which is basically asking for another scandal by Friday magazine maybe).

Good luck Miyabi and stay strong. Don’t let this topple your career. You have a lot of honest and happy fans!

~Siggy, who doesn’t even like Berryz Koubou~

Actions

Information

3 responses

6 07 2009
Johns

“~Siggy, who doesn’t even like Berryz Koubou~”

Unless you are a 12 year old girl, I wouldn’t expect you to like Berryz Koubou.

11 08 2009
Nekomimi

Momoko’s older than miyabi and is the leader of buono!
miyabi just got to be in the middle of the PV’s- which evidently put miyabi in momoko’s former position in PVs and momoko taking Miyabi’s space

22 10 2009
eb

“She’s pretty, I’ll give her that. ”

Wow, the boyfriend did not tell you that you look pretty today?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

