Mediarite flow

15 09 2009

I like variety. I really like variety. That’s why I have a variety of likes and dislikes. But I find myself very hypocritical in this sense. Because while I do like variety, change, and experimentation; there are lots of times where I am frustrated that someone/thing is changing beyond my likes.

The term “bootstrap” apparently means to start a calculation and use this result as a basis for the next calculation (which would’ve been impossible without the first calculation) and continue this until you are at the desired answer. At least this is what it means according to my Chemical Bonding professor. That’s one crazy guy man… At any rate, while I was sitting bored in class I thought of “Musical Bootstrapping”. And from there I just thought of a lot of stuff… but that’s typical of me. By the time I was nearly finished writing this, I just decided to change the name of the post to the current title to better reflect the subject at hand. It also has a nice ring to it that sounds like what I’m trying to convey. But “bootstrap” is too good of a term to pass up.

A lot of my preferences in music and entertainment come from this kind of bootstrapping. I want to call it bandwagoning but I really don’t know the “proper” term for it. It’s like when you wiki “Theodore Roosevelt” and you end up at “The Battle of Jabiim” (Star Wars event, for those who don’t know). Or like when you youtube “Morning Musume Joshi Kashimashi Monogatari” and somehow you end up watching a Pokemon battle from the latest episode of Pokemon Diamond and Pearl. All those intermediates between the beginning and the end are what sprout out to be my web of interests. And I am fascinated that this is the case with music.

I want to bring up one of my most celebrated musical acts: m-flo.

mflo01Original m-flo featuring: Taku, Lisa, and VERBAL

For those who don’t know (if you do know, this is just a recap), m-flo was a Japanese Urban group first made in 1999 with 3 members: Lisa (vocal), VERBAL (MC), and Taku (DJ). They became pretty popular over the years. Eventually, Lisa left to pursue a solo career in 2002. In 2003, m-flo came back. This time they didn’t have a dedicated vocalist, they set out to do a LOT of collaborations. This was the “new school” m-flo, the “m-flo loves …” series. They worked with many artists, small and big, such as: melody, Koda Kumi, BoA, Dragon Ash, MINMI, MONKEY MAJIK, BENNIE K, and many others. They kept producing hits up until 2008 when the 2 original m-flo members decided to disband the group.

mflo_lovesongm-flo is like the Japanese James Bond
m-flo loves BONNIE PINK

Anyway, that was the history lesson of the day there ^. The big idea here is that m-flo changed from the beginning to the end. From the time they lost Lisa and went to different artists they changed a lot. It became such to the point where m-flo was being accused of “going Pop”, where they previously had that underground urban sound that made them so popular in the first place. You know the saying, “if it ain’t broke, then don’t fix it”. They did go broke after Lisa left but they could’ve found another vocal and repeated their success.

561-aThe two remaining members at the end of their career. They are still active today in other projects!

Innovation is what makes the world go around. Despite what people think, money and love do not make the world go round. What m-flo did was team up with a vocal and create something new altogether. I will admit that they certainly did sound more pop than they initially did. But that’s what got me into them. Because I like love pop music. I love upbeat songs and fun songs. In fact when I go back to their old songs, I find that I don’t like them very much. So had m-flo not changed, I probably wouldn’t have gotten into their later work.

The first song I heard from them (that I can fully acknowledge) was: “the love bug” by m-flo loves BoA. Very pop, with just some hints of urban music. This was how I started listening to rap music, through m-flo. By listening to m-flo songs I was ultimately introduced to other artists. Today I am a fan of Monkey Majik and BENNIE K through m-flo.


“the love bug” by m-flo loves BoA, the first m-flo PV I saw


“Taste Your Stuff” by m-flo loves BENNIE K, one of my most favorite songs from the m-flo loves… series

By getting into Monkey Majik I was subsequently introduced to the Yoshida Brothers. This struck a chord because the brothers were the ones who did the famous music for the Wii’s American commercial. Monkey Majik even did a song with rapper SEAMO. Coincidence that BENNIE K had made a hit song with SEAMO? Funny thing, I never got into SEAMO despite this coincidence. I still pick my interests based on if I like it. But it’s this spider-webbing that has broadened my horizons. It allows me to make new connections with other artists and other styles. Who knew I would like Canadian guys singing English in Japan??


“Change” by Monkey Majik + YOSHIDA BROTHERS

How far did this bootstrapping get me. From m-flo, I ended up finding Clazziquai Project, a Korean group. Wow, I jumped from Japan to Korea! And so that was the start of my jump into Korean music which eventually led me to the Wonder Girls and SNSD. Now this would come full circle if I could say that the Wonder Girls led me to the Jonas Brothers (boy band, where most little kids’ start their musical journey). But I would be ashamed if that were ever the case, thankfully it is not the case. I started listening to the TERIYAKI BOYZ because VERBAL from m-flo was in it. I will admit after a karaoke experience and yo-yoing, I have a great amount of appreciation for some of their songs.

a_mflo_b

Today, I still listen to m-flo songs because they’re awesome. I was never really one to listen to the radio or just randomly listen to other music. So I am quite thankful for m-flo for broadening my horizons and essentially cracking open my shell. For a while when I had my first iPod, m-flo ruled a majority of my top played charts simply because of the variety and quality of their songs. At one point, m-flo even beat out Queen Ayumi (when I was still a hardcore fan, at that).

cd186

I’d like to write a post about the real origin of my J-pop preference because it is actually quite amusing to me and many of my friends who I’ve told the story to. I’ll get around to it sometime. But until then, more music for me! Music is love! Spread the love for music!

~Siggy, who changed the main idea of this post several times and had completely lost track of the point of it~

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 09 2009
21 03 2010
七夜志貴

It’s actually Meteorite Flow.

Leave a Reply

